Members of the Board

The Middlesex County Retirement System is administered by a five-member Board.

Thomas F. Gibson – First Member 

Tom has served as Chairman-Treasurer of the Middlesex County Retirement Board since 2004.  He also serves as legal counsel on select matters.  A graduate of Boston College and Suffolk University Law School, Tom’s professional memberships include MassPRIM’s Investor Advisory Council, the National Association of Public Pension Attorneys, the Massachusetts Association of Public Pension Attorneys (Past President,) the Massachusetts Bar Association, the Massachusetts Bar Foundation (Fellow and Life Member,) and the Cambridge-Arlington-Belmont Bar Association (Past President.)  Tom served in the Massachusetts Army National Guard from 1970-1976.


John Brown – Elected Member 

John Brown was first elected to the Middlesex County Retirement Board in 2007.  He retired from the Wilmington Fire Department in 2014 after 46 years of service.  He was the President of IAFF Local 1370 for 20 years, served on the Massachusetts Fire Training Council for 12 years, and in 1999 was elected to the Executive Board of the Professional Fire Fighters of Massachusetts, where he serves as an Emeritus Officer and pension advisor.  John continues to ski with the National Ski Patrol where he has been awarded National Appointment No. 12207, and volunteers with the New Hampshire Special Olympics.  John currently serves as Vice President of the Massachusetts Association of Contributory Retirement Systems.  In November 2020, he was re-elected to the Middlesex County Retirement Board.

John Brown - Elected Member

Brian P. Curtin – Advisory Council Member 

Brian served as the elected Treasurer/Collector of the Town of Burlington from 1977 until his retirement in June 2020.  The Board’s Vice Chairman, Brian was first elected to the Middlesex County Retirement Board in 1980 by his fellow Treasurers on the Middlesex County Retirement Board Advisory Council.

On July 1, 2020, Brian was appointed to the Burlington Housing Authority and currently serves as its Treasurer.  He is a graduate of Northeastern University and is Past President of the Massachusetts Association of Collectors and Treasurers where he also served for 4 years as the Legislative Agent, and a member of the Executive Board for many years.

Brian is a Certified Pension Professional and a Massachusetts Registered Investment Advisor.

Brian P. Curtin - Elected Member

Robert W. Healy – Appointed Member 

Robert Healy was first appointed to the Middlesex County Retirement Board in 2013.  A resident of Lowell, Bob has 55 years of public service, including 32 years as City Manager for the City of Cambridge, 7 years as its Deputy City Manager, and 8 years in the City Manager’s Office in Lowell.  He was reappointed to the Board in December 2020.

Bob was educated at Harvard Kennedy School, MIT Sloan School of Management, UMass Lowell & Amherst. Bob served in the United States Air Force Reserves from 1966-1972. Bob is a current member of the International City Management Association and Massachusetts Municipal Management Association and previously a member of Metro Mayors Association from 2000 – 2013.

Robert Healy

Joseph W. Kearns – Elected Member

Joseph Kearns has been a member of the Middlesex County Retirement Board since 2017. He currently serves as the Fire Chief for the Town of Tewksbury, after serving more than twenty years as a firefighter/EMT and three years as a Dispatcher for the Town.

Joe is a member of the Fire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts and the International Association of Fire Chiefs.  He previously served on the Tewksbury Firefighters Local 1647 Executive Board from 1997 – 2020.  During his tenure, he served two years as Treasurer (1997-1999) and fourteen years as President (2001-2013 and 2017-2019). 

Joe is a graduate of Salem State College.